Followsymlinks tweaks

This commit is contained in:
Jakob Borg
2015-06-21 23:28:38 +02:00
parent 0b00ef65c2
commit dc7c973c42
+9 -7
View File
@@ -7,8 +7,6 @@
the deletion of your files. Currently it's probably best to only use
``FollowSymlinks`` on a folder master.
.. versionadded:: v0.11.10
Symbolic Link Following
=======================
@@ -63,8 +61,12 @@ Disabling
Disabling ``FollowSymlinks``, once enabled, is not fully supported. Doing so
by the same mechanism used to enable it is likely to destroy your files.
Disabling ``FollowSymlinks`` on the source results in symlinked directories
being deleted and replaced with the actual symlink. During the next scan, the
files previously present in the directory will be noted as having been deleted
and delete record sent to other devices. The source device will then delete
the files.
Disabling ``FollowSymlinks`` is inherently unsafe as it generates delete
records for all files that were previously accessible via the symlink. Under
some conditions, these files may be deleted from the reconfigured device
having the symlink, in addition to the other devices.
The safest course of action is to remove the symlinks themselves, then disable
``FollowSymlinks``. The files previously reachable via the symlink will be
deleted from other devices, but (given the symlink was removed) are not
reachable and hence are preserved on the source device.