Add :user:`` links
This commit is contained in:
+9
-8
@@ -30,7 +30,7 @@ When global discovery is enabled, Syncthing sends an announcement packet every
|
||||
your device ID and external IP. Also, when connecting to other devices that have
|
||||
not been seen on the local network, a query is sent to the global discovery
|
||||
server containing the device ID of the requested device. The discovery server is
|
||||
currently **hosted by @calmh**. Global discovery defaults to **on**.
|
||||
currently hosted by :user:`calmh`. Global discovery defaults to **on**.
|
||||
|
||||
When turned off, devices with dynamic addresses not on the local network cannot
|
||||
be found and connected to.
|
||||
@@ -66,19 +66,20 @@ upgrades disabled.
|
||||
|
||||
In effect this exposes the majority of the Syncthing population to tracking by
|
||||
the operator of the download site (currently GitHub). That data is not available
|
||||
to outside parties (including @calmh etc), except that download counts per
|
||||
release binary are available in the GitHub API. The upgrade check (or download)
|
||||
requests *do not* contain any identifiable information about the user, device,
|
||||
Syncthing version, etc.
|
||||
to outside parties (including :user:`calmh` etc), except that download counts
|
||||
per release binary are available in the GitHub API. The upgrade check (or
|
||||
download) requests *do not* contain any identifiable information about the user,
|
||||
device, Syncthing version, etc.
|
||||
|
||||
Usage Reporting
|
||||
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
|
||||
|
||||
When usage reporting is enabled, Syncthing reports usage data at startup and
|
||||
then every 24 hours. The report is sent as an HTTPS POST to the usage reporting
|
||||
server, currently **hosted by @calmh**. The contents of the usage report can be
|
||||
seen behind the "Preview" link in settings. Usage reporting defaults to **off**
|
||||
but the GUI will ask once about enabling it, shortly after the first install.
|
||||
server, currently hosted by :user:`calmh`. The contents of the usage report can
|
||||
be seen behind the "Preview" link in settings. Usage reporting defaults to
|
||||
**off** but the GUI will ask once about enabling it, shortly after the first
|
||||
install.
|
||||
|
||||
The reported data is protected from eavesdroppers, but the connection to the
|
||||
usage reporting server itself may expose the client as running Syncthing.
|
||||
|
||||
Reference in New Issue
Block a user